Accumulating, consuming, debt and freedom

“Sell your crap. Pay your debt. Do what you love.” – An inspiring message, I agree with getting rid of the excess to feel more free and flexible. “What does freedom mean to you?” For me it’s freedom from my own thoughts, mind and job. I don’t feel liberated, I realise it and I aim to change it.

“We’ve bought into the addiction, we’ve been sold a myth, which is: acquiring things in our life and the pursuit of a living environment filled with things is going to grant us security, or happiness. We start to identify with these things, you can tell who’s successful or not etc by the possessions they have. People’s identity shouldn’t be based on their collection of nice stuff, it should be based on their collection of rich experiences.”

“There are thousands and thousands of people out there living lives of quiet, screaming desperation who work long, hard hours, at jobs they hate, to enable them to buy things they don’t need to impress people they don’t like.” – Nigel Marsh

Another quote I love that relates to this addiction/myth us: “Trying to be happy by accumulating possessions is like trying to satisfy hunger by taping sandwiches all over your body.” – George Carlin

This feels especially important to note around times like Christmas. Which for me, is a time for celebration and acquisition of memories and experiences, not more objects I don’t really need.

I’ve started to pay off my debt instead of save, sell stuff I hardly use, and become more aware of my superficial desires and temporary happiness that buying things gives me, and I already feel better. Here’s to freedom.

One thought on “Accumulating, consuming, debt and freedom

What's your thoughts on the subject?

